h1

Give me a smile, and I shall take you to forever.

May 2, 2009

So you might have noticed that I haven’t posted anything here for quite a long time. Actually, it feels like it’s been ages since I posted anything relevant here, not that anything is actually relevant in this blogsite. It’s all full of rants and raves, to be honest. But it’s meant to be that way. That’s why they created blogsites in the first place- to write stuff about yourself that nobody would care to read about except for the ones who really care about you. 🙂

So to make up for all the posts that I know I was supposed to do but ended up not doing at all, I will make this blog entry especially long. Well, I don’t know if it will be long because of the things I will write, I think it will be mostly because of the pictures. haha. Pictures that I will be posting soon. The inet’s a little screwey.

Okay, let’s get the ball rolling. My summer vacation started with our Holy Week in Aklan. I don’t exactly know when it happened.  Let’s forget about the dates, shall we? I’m bad with dates. So, holy week in Aklan. We do it every year but this year is special because we had a lot of balikbayans and cousins coming home that we really got to bond with. From Manila, LA, London and Australia.  Tita Lina went home too (after six long years) and that really made me all the more happy! I joined in picking her up at the airport and so I was really ecstatic.  Seeing her again after all these years made me feel like a little kid again, 11 years old to be exact. The year she went to the States. I’m glad she’s back again and the best part is, she could come back over and over (and over) again.  :))

Also, I got to hang out with my cousins. We, the 2nd generation of the Guevara Clan, are getting closer and closer each year. Our bond strengthens (mostly because of beer. haha) and I’m glad we got to hang out and bond with each other. This Holy week has been one of the most dramatic ones too (my dad’s speech was moving) and it got everybody’s stomach in knots, but  maybe that’s because of the beer too, i don’t really know. HAHA But anyway, the point is, with all the drama, the laughter and the tears, the bad catered food, the good home made food and all the dollars that go with it, here’s to our  family. GUEVARA CLAN, ROCK.

BORACAY 2009 was one hell of a trip too.  All 37 of us crammed into two vans (i could barely move) and the van I was in almost got hit by a speeding car and the other van with the guys in it had a flat tire. Damnit to hell! But it was all good once we got to Caticlan. We had a funny run-in with the security in the Caticlan terminal because of the non- Aklan natives. Oh, what money can do to people. 😉 Moving on, we had a blast in Boracay! We spent two nights and three  days there. A bit ‘bitin’, if you ask me. But I had fun nonetheless. We rode the banana boat after a very loooong and once again, dramatic argument with the agency that administered our ride. WHAT TRAITORS. We would’ve sued you if not for our laziness to actually sue you!! HAHA But of well, we got the ride thanks to our awesome aunts who put their foot down and their money down too. Hee, thank you!! All in all, it was great! The food was great, the people were great, the water was pristine and the sand was still white (on most parts of the island). That’s a relief. In the end, I would still recommend Boracay to everybody who wishes to have a good time and a relaxing vacation at the same time. And mark my words, I will come back next year- or even earlier.  🙂

When we got back to Iloilo, things got a bit lazier but it was good nevertheless. We hang out at Lawaan and just go around Iloilo. We’ve been taking Tita Lina to all the possible good places for a good meal. We also spend a great amount of time obsessing about the NBA Playoffs. Who’s leading the pack, who’s trailing behind and seeing if the Celtics still has the chance at the crown (we think they should burn in hell). The Lakers will win it so to all the other teams (esp to the Celtics), SORRY FOR BEING SO LAME. Hahaha Okaay, waay pa gni. Bsta, we’ve enjoyed a lot of times watching the Lakers play and rooting for them all the way.  Now that’s tita Lina’s almost leaving, it’s sad. But I know she’ll be back and we’ll be having more good times with her. My summer isn’t going to end with her leaving, maybe a part of it but not entirely. In fact, it’s just starting. So, here’s to summer and the balikbayan boxes and sunburns that go with it. Cheers, everybody. 🙂

 

Leave a comment